One For The Road


Amber Coffman – ‘All To Myself’

Amber Coffman's stunning voice and gorgeous harmonies are a big component of beloved indie group The Dirty Projectors. She recently announced a forthcoming solo album called, "City of No Reply." Here's the first single. It's entitled, appropriately, "All to Myself."

Photo Credit: Mike Lawrie/Getty Images

Leonard Cohen – ‘You Want it Darker’

Leonard Cohen -- yes that Leonard Cohen -- has a new album out in a couple of weeks. It's called "You Want it Darker." Check out the first track off that album.

Image Courtesy of No Quarter Records

Joan Shelley – “Cost of the Cold”

Joan Shelley is a Kentucky-based singer-songwriter who releases new music every September. Her latest is a single called "Cost of the Cold."


Cass McCombs – ‘Opposite House’

Cass McCombs, the modern-day troubadour whose songwriting has long been a favorite of other musicians. His new album called "Mangy Love" is out in August. Here's a track from it called "Opposite House."

Photo Credit Bradley Murray

Jamila Woods – ‘Heavn’

Singer Jamila Woods has been featured on some Chance The Rapper tracks, as well as a Macklemore single. But this week she releases an album of her own. It's called "Heavn." Here's the eponymous single.

(Photo Credit: Constanc Mensh)

Steve Gunn – “Ancient Jules”

Steve Gunn is gearing up to release his new album called, "Eyes on the Line." It comes out June 3rd. Here's the single "Ancient Jules" -- a great soundtrack for (fittingly!) summer days on the road.

(Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

A Farewell to Prince – ‘Crazy You’

Prince has been the soundtrack to some of the greatest moments of our lives. By now you know he passed away at the age of 57 on Thursday, April 21. We never had the good fortune of interviewing him... but for our first-ever "soundtrack" segment, Yukimi Nagano of the band Little Dragon put the beautiful Prince song "Crazy You" on her playlist. Hear a bit of that segment from back in 2011.

Image Courtesy of Shorefire Media

Esperanza Spalding – “Earth to Heaven”

Jazz bassist, vocalist and composer Esperanza Spalding just released a new album. It's called "Emily's D+Evolution" and it's far funkier than the phrase "jazz vocalist" would lead you to believe. Here's a track called "Earth to Heaven."

Photo Credit: Dusdin Condren

Kevin Morby – ‘I Have Been To The Mountain’

Indie rocker Kevin Morby launched his first band, Creepy Alien, while still in his teens. After moving from Kansas City to Brooklyn, he began playing with the band Woods and started a side project, The Babies. Ever the wanderer, Kevin moved to Los Angeles and made his debut as a solo artist with the 2013 album "Harlem River." Here's a track from his forthcoming third album, "Singing Saw," called "I Have Been To The Mountain."